Eating Disorders

Eating disorders consist of 4 main categories:

  • Bulimia nervosa: characterized by episodes of uncontrolled food intake, followed by compensatory behaviors.
  • Anorexia nervosa: characterized by low body weight and distorted body image and fear of weight gain.
  • Binge eating disorder: characterized by frequent consumption of large amounts of food, even when the person is not hungry.
  • Other Specified Feeding and Eating Disorder: These are disorders that do not meet the criteria of the previous categories, but they cause severe discomfort or difficulties in one's daily life, relationships and / or work environment.


In order to effectively treat eating disorders, it is necessary to have the help of a mental health professional, a dietician and in some cases a doctor.

The mental health specialist assists the person to explore his/her needs, desires and feelings, as well as the relationships of the individual. Together, they will seek to discover the root causes of the problem through a relationship of trust, understanding and mutual respect.

Οι βασικοί στόχοι μιας ψυχοθεραπευτικής παρέμβασης είναι να:

  • Διαφοροποιήσουμε την φυσική από τη συναισθηματική πείνα
  • Αναγνωρίσουμε τα συναισθήματα που οδηγούν στην συναισθηματική υπερκατανάλωση
  • Σπάσουμε το φαύλο κύκλο αρνητικών συναισθημάτων και σκέψεων
  • Ερευνήσουμε τη σχέση με το φαγητό
  • Αναζητήσουμε υγιείς τρόπους έκφρασης των συναισθημάτων
  • Βελτιώσουμε τις διαπροσωπικές σχέσεις και την επικοινωνία με τα άτομα του κοντινού μας περιβάλλοντος
  • Μάθουμε τρόπους να φροντίζουμε και να επιβραβεύουμε τον εαυτό μας
  • Βελτιώσουμε την εικόνα του σώματός μας και την αυτοπεποίθησή μας
  • Αναγνωρίσουμε τα επιτεύγματα και τις δυσκολίες της θεραπευτικής πορείας

The dietician will determine a person's dietary needs and will try to create a diet plan based on those needs.

Lastly, medical help may be needed when the person has a low body mass index and / or when the person's eating habits cause medical problems, such as dehydration, malnutrition and electrolyte disorders.


%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close